The Sisterhood of the Traveling Placenta

21 Nov

You know you’re a birth junkie when you can add “placenta courier” to your job title.  Recently I had the honor of delivering a brand new placenta South to be encapsulated.  My tribe and I are always joking about the funny birth stuff that comes out of our mouths when we’re together, things like: “hey don’t let me forget my placenta, it’s in your freezer” and the response “ok well make sure you get the right one because two of mine are in there!”…  You get the idea, right?  In the Caul Birth Services is going to be blogging about this stuff so if you want to laugh your tooshie off reading just how addicted we are to birth check out and follow her blog, she’ll be posting about these comments soon.  So anyhow, I knew when I offered to carefully transport this very important package, I had to document it’s travels.  I packed up my 7d and we hit the road.  First stop: placenta’s home.  Safely packaged in a top of the line cooler I sat him in the front floor board with me and we hit the road.

Having two boys I don’t get a lot of alone time so I was super excited for this time, in the car, blasting the radio, singing like I’m auditioning for American Idol (in which I’d be one of the hilarious outtakes since I sound like a dying cat when I sing).  Nonetheless I sang my heart out.  I was singing, thinking and driving.  It didn’t take long to make it out into the country.  As I was driving and thinking I noticed the sun was shining down on the pavement just so that it looked like a million diamonds were sparkling back up at me.  I recently learned a little bit about cultivating gratitude and in that moment I was grateful for this beautiful Sunday afternoon, for the sun and the warm Fall air coming through the windows.

All of a sudden, we made it.  We had arrived at our destination safely.  Shew (wiping the sweat from my brow).  His next ride South was already there and waiting.  Notice the top of the line cooler…

Now we all know that no road trip is complete without tacky tourist pictures, right?  Just thought this one was a must.

And of course all road trips require bathroom breaks.  For everyone.

Oh wait, there’s one more cutie I just had to get a picture of…

Yes, kids were involved in the transport of this placenta.  Kids are quite often involved in just about everything we do together.  My Tribe consists of six of the most amazing women I know and a total of twelve children with one on the way.  We all love that our children are so involved in our birth stuff.  We all know and trust that showing our children that birth is normal will help change come about, for them and hopefully for their children and so on.  My friend and I chatted a little about the previous night’s event and then we hit the road.  She, taking the placenta with her to it’s next destination and me heading back north.

I really enjoyed my little road-trip.  Singing, thinking, driving and just being alone for a few hours.  Sometimes being alone can really help you refresh.  I’m honored and thankful that I was trusted for this very important journey.  I’m blessed for the women in my life and the women I got to help on Sunday.  And I’m lucky to have an amazing husband who happily kept our two boys so I could make this trip – alone.  It was relaxing and refreshing and I can’t wait to hear how much this little placenta is going to help out my dear friend in her postpartum.

2 Responses to “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Placenta”

  1. gina November 22, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Oh Nikki and Stephanie, you girls are a gift. The theme right now is abundance, and these friendships are so much of it. Gratitude, love, and joy coming your way, North to South 🙂

  2. inthecaul December 3, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    Ha! How have I not seen this. Truth, friendship, passion for this work, stinkin’ babies & crazy mamas! ❤

Leave a comment